top of page

Anastrozole Side Effects

I've been on this drug since May, and I am not liking how it's making me feel. I feel like a brittle old woman. If I sit or lay down for any extended period of time, I am so still and achy that I look like a 95-year-old trying to walk. Now I'm experiencing parts of my body (fingers, arms) going numb while I'm in bed at night even though I'm not laying on them funny.


This is rather concerning if it gets exponentially worse because I'm supposed to visit Europe for a once-in-a-lifetime trip, and I can't imagine how I'm going to get around let alone get in and out of a gondola in Venice unassisted!


I called my oncologist yesterday and she is going to discuss giving me a 2-week break off the drugs to see how I feel and then maybe switch me to something else. She is going to discuss this with the clinical trial nurse.


As annoying as my side effects are, they aren't quality of life altering like it is for so many other women. I count myself fortunate and blessed to have had such minimal (albeit irritating) side effects.


If I go off them, my chance for reoccurrence jumps from 12% to 22%. What's a woman to do?


I've never been brave enough (or had the money and paid time off) to plan an extended trip to Europe before and I don't want to be this couple below: (too old and tired to enjoy it) before I go.


Will update when I know more.

36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Heaven

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page