top of page

C'mon Ring Those Bells!


So, after flashing my left breast to numerous staff at Saddleback Radiology and Oncology since March 21st, I'm finally done. There is a tradition for those undergoing radiation treatments. On your last treatment you get the ring THE BELL and all the staff rejoice with you that your radiation journey is completed. You also get a certificate of completion (kind of like a participation trophy). I told them it needed to be printed with glow-in-the-dark ink.


Today was my last treatment that spanned 6.5 weeks (with a 10-day break before the last 1/2). I can't say enough about the staff at Saddleback Radiation and Oncology. I have never met a nicer group of people who truly care about their patients on a personal level.


From Sean the receptionist, who greets everyone by name who comes in and out of the office on a daily basis without having to consult his notes. Always cheerful, always pleased to see you, a big ray of sunshine (and an Angel's fan like my husband).


The wonderful nurses who make sure you are taking good care of your skin, are sympathetic to your suffering and are oftentimes the only comfort some patients will have. They will hold your hand, hug you, pray with you if asked and you can't help but feel loved and cared for. My nurses were Jackie, Cheryl, Sheri and Kimberly. Wonderful people, every last one, all dedicated to their patients.


The radiology technicians who position you on the machine, tell you when to take a deep breath and hold it....hold it.....HOOOOOOOOLD IT...... (Mary at first would forget to tell me when it was okay to breathe and sometimes I would turn blue!). They were all wonderful and kudos go out to Mary, Cheryl, Kacie and Luke.


I will not miss being radiated to the point of becoming a crispy critter but I will miss all these wonderful people. I gave them all a grateful hug. They are all angels in scrubs as far as I'm concerned!

Sean


These are some of my wonderful nurses : Jackie, Cheryl, Sheri and Kimberly:

Luke and Cheryl, radiology techs

Kacie and Mary manning their posts.

Mary, who would sometimes forget to tell me to breath.

The big green radiation machine! Last time it was set up for me.


This poem is for you all:


Here's to the Heros by Katherine Jenkins


Here's to the heroes Those few who dare Heading for glory Living a prayer

Here's to the heroes Who change our lives Thanks to the heroes Freedom survives

Here's to the heroes Who never rest They are the chosen We are the blessed

Here's to the heroes Who aim so high Here's to the heroes Who do or die

Here's to the heroes Who never rest They are the chosen We are the blessed

Here's to the heroes Who aim so high Here's to the heroes Who do or die

Here's to the heroes Who do or die

107 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Heaven

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page