top of page

Giredestrant or Anastrozole?


The lady or the tiger? Curtain No. 1 or Curtain No. 2? I wish I got to choose!


Tomorrow, I find out which one.


I'm on a Facebook group Anastrozole, Letrozole, Exemestane and Tamoxifen...Living with Side Effects and I've been reading posts from people on these drugs and quite frankly some of them are terrifying.


One poor woman, 10 years younger than me, has been crippled by the side effects and has no family support.


Of course, my oncologist underplays the side effects (I'm sure just to calm my nerves). You may have some aches and pains; you may experience hot flashes....(even when I went through menopause I never got hot flashes). I reached out to a friend who has the same doctors as I and she had an allergic reaction to Anastrozole that resulted in a whole-body rash. She had to switch to something else.


I am alone this week. Hubby is on travel for work, one best friend is down with Covid and the other two are out of town. I have a book signing on the 25th with my local Barnes & Noble and I'm scared to death of having a reaction that will take me out so I'm seriously considering delaying starting on these drugs until after the 25th. In fact, I'm going to insist on a delay. What are they going to do? Force it down my throat?


I can tell you one thing, if I get put on anastrozole and have horrendous side effects I've already told my husband I'm not willing to live the next 7-10 years in misery just to prolong my life here on earth.


I'd rather go home to heaven where I long to be anyway. I think the thought of what may happen to me if I do scares him. He held me very close before he left but said he understood.


Lots of women went on these drugs only to go off of them again and were much happier for it but some of these side effects result in PERMANENT damage and I'm not willing to risk that.


Your thoughts?

55 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Heaven

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page