top of page

I Am Officially Mapped


Today I got my CT scan for future radiation treatments. As far as medical procedures go it was a minor annoyance. You have to lay there while the clinician gets the "mold" for your head/body position and then you slide back and forth out of the tube and hold your breath while the thingy revolves around you.


So now I get a 10-day break while I visit family in Hawaii and after that I can't expose my skin from the neck down to my waist to any sunshine, so this trip is coming at the optimum time even though the tickets were purchased a month before I was diagnosed.


All the medical personnel really try to downplay the effects of radiation. They say things like "mild irritation", "some redness" while the poor women on the breast cancer groups are complaining about how radiation kicked their butt or they can't take it anymore their skin is so raw and painful.


I have to admit that I'm a bit apprehensive on how I will respond. I have very sensitive skin. Good grief...I wore a bra for the first time in two months last night and I got a friggin RASH where the lower part was on my skin. I had to take two Benedryl, Cortisone cream, and Gold Bond powder!!



29 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Heaven

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page