top of page

It All Started a Year Ago...



I was taking a walk around my office complex about a year ago when I got the call. "Your tests came back positive for cancer."


I have to admit it, I took it pretty calmly. I told my co-workers, friends and family and everybody but me was emotionally impacted. It just all seemed surreal. I never broke down and cried, I never thought "Why me?"


I was glad that my mom had already passed on to heaven 2 years before because I never could have told her about it. It would have upset her too much. I knew I was looking forward to a fresh, new medical ordeal I just had no idea what it was going to be like.


It's now a year later. I went through 2 lumpectomies (not too bad as far as surgeries go), an infection, leaking, then 6.5 weeks of radiation (with only one bad week where I burned enough to make me cry) and now I've been on the hormone blockers since May and honestly (praise the Lord) no bad side effects.


I had already gone through menopause 20 years ago and already lost my hair to alopecia, so the effects were minimal. I'm back to using hormone cream to prevent (are you ready for this?): vaginal atrophy. Yes, it's a real thing and can make life miserable. I guess it's a common problem among post-menopausal women but lately it has been popping up as a topic in my breast cancer Facebook groups. Oh! The joys of growing old.


Today is my 63rd birthday. Next year my husband will be playing "When I'm 64" by the Beatles. I can't believe I'm this old. I still think of myself as a "girl". I just had my first mammogram since surgery last January (and boy did it hurt!) and I got the 'all clear' but nothing is guaranteed. Once you have cancer, it can always come back (and with a vengeance.).


Physically, it really is all downhill from here but I'm looking forward to a young, healthy, resurrected body in my Father's Kingdom (come death or the rapture). As much as I hate the way I look now (sans wig) I know it's only temporary.


Hebrews 11:10, KJV: For I am looking for a city which hath foundations, whose builder and maker is God.

16 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Heaven

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page