top of page

LisaMarie



If you're thinking of LisaMarie Presley, you would be mistaken. LisaMarie has been my long-distance friend for over 5 years. I can't remember how we met, I just remember one day bemoaning on Facebook how depressed I was over something trivial, and she commented how she understood and felt the same way a lot of times. I never got to meet her in person.


If anyone had reason to be depressed it would have been her. She suffered from numerous, serious ailments for years and was no longer able to live independently. Her devoted son, Caleb, took care of her up until about a week ago when LisaMarie passed into heaven.


Because of my breast cancer diagnosis a couple of years ago, LisaMarie checked herself and found a lump a few months ago. So, in addition to suffering with MS, unable to walk, diabetes, etc., she had to contend with breast cancer. She got her first round of chemo in early December and the oncologist not only gave her too strong a dose (which resulted in mouth sores and immediate loss of hair) but Covid pneumonia as well. The stupid doctor actually admitted to her that she had it! LisaMarie got super sick, and the coughing threw out her entire back down to her legs, just adding to her agony. She went into the hospital just before Christmas and let me know that the nursing staff were ignoring her. The only time she got help was when Caleb could be there. It made me so angry, I called the head nurse from California and lit a fire under them, listing everything that they were not doing. Her care got somewhat better after that but then I found out they dropped her twice, cracking her ribs in the process. To add to this, was the loss of several family members she was close to in the past 2 years.


Her lung collapsed while in ICU and she was put on a ventilator and in an induced coma. This past weekend, God ended her suffering. Caleb let me know that the doctors had informed him that her oxygen level had plummeted and that he could either let her pass peacefully or keep her sedated on a ventilator for the rest of her life which would have been unconscionable. So LisaMarie passed into glory this past weekend, finally free of her body which had become a painful prison. I wonder what she is seeing and experiencing right now and am happy for her. It's where I long to be.


LisaMarie was a sweetheart and a courageous soul. I will miss her.

53 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Heaven

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page