top of page

Mother's Day Isn't Happening This Year


I miss my mom, but she is celebrating in heaven. My husband and daughter had everything all planned out for me this year for a change. A nice brunch at home to avoid the crowds then dinner out at a favorite eatery. One year he thought it would be a good idea to invite everyone over here for dinner. I cleaned, I cooked and cleaned again and fumed the entire time. "Don't you ever do that to me again!" I warned him. This year he and my daughter made plans but as John Lennon famously quipped, "Life is what happens when you're making other plans."


My poor husband came home from a business trip and 2 days later started experiencing cold symptoms. We have antigen Covid tests at home that I had to use for work, so he tested himself last Tuesday. Negative. He got worse and tested again the next day. This time, he was positive. POSITIVE FOR COVID!!! After 3 years of isolating!


I swung into action and got his primary care physician on the phone and the same day he had a Rx for Ivermectin and Z-pack along with cough medicine. He moved into the living room to sleep. We have been eating in separate rooms and watching the same movies together, in separate rooms. No hugging, no touching, wiping everything down and washing hands as much as possible. Always together but apart. Last night we watched The Lake House together and at the end we just wanted to hug each other so bad but didn't.


Of course, Mother's Day had to be cancelled. No visitors. No going out. I went out shopping and got myself some pink peonies and fleece slippers. I offered to get a Mother's Day card for my husband so he could sign it and it just brought him to tears. He feels so bad. I've been cooking for all of us. Tomorrow I will bake a ready-make quiche from Wild Fork, indulge in almond croissants and fresh fruit with Kona coffee (the real stuff) and do my best to cheer my husband up.


My radiology doctor wanted me to do a PR Covid test in order for me to restart my last five boost radiation treatments this week, so I did a drive-through test today. I just did the at-home antigen test and it's negative. Go figure. Michael was vaccinated and got Covid. I refused to get vaccinated, have been exposed to him for a good week and I'm negative...so far.


I really didn't need to get Covid on top of everything else. So thank you again to everyone who has been praying for me!!


Psalm 91:1-8

Whoever dwells in the shelter of the Most High will rest in the shadow of the Almighty. I will say of the Lord, “He is my refuge and my fortress, my God, in whom I trust.” Surely he will save you from the fowler’s snare and from the deadly pestilence. He will cover you with his feathers, and under his wings you will find refuge; his faithfulness will be your shield and rampart. You will not fear the terror of night, nor the arrow that flies by day, nor the pestilence that stalks in the darkness, nor the plague that destroys at midday. A thousand may fall at your side, ten thousand at your right hand, but it will not come near you. You will only observe with your eyes and see the punishment of the wicked.

42 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Heaven

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page