top of page

My Bucket List Trip to Europe

Updated: Oct 11, 2023



"Going to Europe" was something I never thought I'd ever say in reference to myself or do. It was something that "other" people did. With my breast cancer diagnosis almost exactly two years ago, I thought it was time that I finally planned to see those places I have always wished to see while I was still healthy (and young) enough, had the paid time off and the wherewithal to do so. The thing I was most stressed about was the Eurail passes and apps. It was funny, our passes/tickets were almost never checked except on the two occasions where I screwed up the reservations - but it all worked out.


You need to be in relatively good shape to spend any extended time in Europe. The countries there do not cater to anyone with disabilities. We had to lug almost 7 pieces of luggage up and down flights of stairs and trains (running) on an almost daily basis to get to our destinations. We also had to lift them up over our heads onto train racks. Not to mention the almost constant, all-day walking. I figured we averaged at least 18,000 steps per day and 20 flights of stairs. We ate gelato, pastries and pasta (not to mention beer - my husband) on a daily basis and actually lost some weight! I actually saw a WSJ article about this very phenomenon while scrolling through Facebook this week.


Our first three days of the trip were abysmal to say the least and worried us that it might portend worse things to come. We spent the night before in a Comfort Inn in downtown San Diego, across the street from a nightclub that was open to 2am blasting loud music and people getting arrested below our window. We got NO SLEEP. Then Air Canada notified everyone on our flight when we landed that none of the checked baggage made it to Montreal, Canada (a nonstop flight). When we got off the airplane, we were greeted in the International Terminal by hundreds of pieces of unclaimed luggage and animals in crates crying for their owners. HORRIBLE.


Thank God I used Apple Airtags!! My medical case with all of my ostomy supplies sat in the airport untouched all the next day despite Air Canada officials promising to deliver it. My husband's suitcase with my CPAP was still in Toronto, Canada. We finally took an Uber to the airport, found my bag then waited an hour and a half for his to arrive.


Montreal, Canada -


Beautiful architecture but I was dismayed by all of the graffiti absolutely everywhere! The area was experiencing a record heat wave, so we went to the botanical gardens on the coolest day of our four days there. They were beautiful and almost identical to the Huntington Library and Gardens in our area of California.


Michael was determined to sample Canada's famous poutine (a dish that combines, fries, gravy, cheese curds and anything else they can think of). GROSS. He got the duck foi gras poutine and I tried it. YES. I. ACTUALLY. LIKED IT. He thought it was "crazy good". We also indulged in the best smoked meat sandwich you can sink your teeth into, world renown lox and bagels and high tea. After all the walking, he treated me to a one-hour spa massage at the Ritz where we had high tea.



Munich - Germany - Germany is beautiful! Clean, orderly and breathtaking in many ways. We got there just shy of Octoberfest but that didn't stop my husband from indulging in every "bier" and giant pretzel he saw. The first of my bucket list items to get checked off was getting to see the Neuschwanstein Castle with my own eyes. Something I have wanted to do for 40 years! The Eden Wolff Hotel we stayed at was probably the best of the rooms we stayed in. The bed had goose down pillows and duvet and was incredibly comfortable. I collapsed into it with giggles of joy after walking 25,000 steps and climbing 22 flights after the castle tour. I got a traditional Dirndl and Michael relented to wear a blue jean version of Lederhosen.



Salzburg - Austria - Salzburg is the land of the VonTrapp family. We stayed at the Hyperion Hotel, right across the street from where many scenes from Do Ray Mi from the Sound of Music was filmed in the gardens. I saw the Sound of Music at Graumann's Chinese Theater when I was 4 in 1965 and remember meeting Angela Cartwright at the time who played one of the children. We took the four-hour Sound of Music Tour, and it was worth every cent! We went up into the hills and to the village where the wedding was filmed as well as the mansions which were exteriors for the VonTrapp family home and the Glass Gazebo (You are 16 going on 17) while the tour guide played the movie soundtrack. After that we had dinner by candlelight with live musicians and singers performing Mozart's Operas. What an experience!! Salzburg is ALL ABOUT MOZART. We got Mozart chocolates daily. Salzburg also had one of the most beautiful little cemeteries I've ever seen. We got there at noon, just in time to hear all the church bells go off.



Lauterbrunnen - Switzerland - ABSOLUTELY BREATHTAKING. Heidi was my favorite childhood book so I have always wanted to see the alps. The weather was predicted to be nonstop pouring for the 2 days we were there, but I felt confident that God would answer my prayers for a clear day to take in the beauty and HE DID! We walked the entire Lauterbrunnen valley and also took the tram up to Murren (top of the valley). We saw the waterfall inside the cliff that is fed by a glacier and pours down 2,000 liters per second. We were also amazed to see people in squirrel suits base jumping and paragliding down into the valley.




Venice - Italy - You get off the train at St. Lucia station, walk around a corner and there is Venice in all its glory! It's almost surreal. I almost felt like I was on a vast movie set. Venice is a vast maze - I don't know how people found their way around before GPS on smartphones! Everything is carted in by boat and handcart. No cars anywhere. So, you walk everywhere, up and down large and small bridges. It was a great five-day workout. Some streets are only wide enough for one person at a time. We stayed at the Dona Palace close to Saint Mark's Square. The shopping is amazing and more affordable than I expected. Waiters stand in front of their restaurants and nicely pressure people passing by to come in and eat. We took a day trip to Murano (where they have made hand blow glass for over 1,000 years) and Burano (where they mastered the art of stitching lace by hand). My husband blew the kitty on me and got one item from each island. (Gifts that will cover birthdays, anniversaries and Christmases for the rest of my life.) We also took a day trip to Verona to see Juliet's balcony which has become something of a tourist trap. The place was jam packed with tourists but the mailbox for "letters to Juliet" hardly had any letters in it. I had written mine out the night before and I'm curious to see what I get back from Verona.



Lake Como - Italy - I saved the best for last for Michael's birthday. Every one of my acquaintances asked me to say hello to George Clooney. Never saw him. (He is selling his home in Lake Como). We rented a car and believe me, driving around Lake Como in a stick shift is not for the faint of heart. Some areas are only wide enough for 1-1/2 cars. You have to dodge pedestrians running in front of your car to cross the street, enormous tour buses that take up the width of the entire road coming at you and the constant worry of getting a parting gift from Italy's traffic department upon your return to the states (for driving too fast/slow or in areas reserved only for locals). We managed not to get killed or scratch the car.


We got in early, checked into our hotel in Menaggio and took the ferry over to Bellagio where we got caught in a cloud burst. Thanks goodness we were inside a restaurant at the time, but it was awe-inspiring. We did some more shopping. By this time, we had purchased an extra suitcase just to contain all the gifts we had bought for others. The 23rd was Michael's birthday and I treated him to lunch at the Villa De Este (a converted mansion/villa). He got the royal treatment, including 2 desserts and we spent the rest of the day walking around Lake Como exploring Menaggio.



Milan - Italy - It was fashion week in Milan. Way too crowded for me and too expensive. Below are the ugliest girls in Milan. Saw the cathedral and the famous shopping center adjacent but I couldn't afford anything.


Despite a rocky start, God answered all the prayers. We didn't get Covid, I didn't get vertigo, the weather was beautiful, and we made all of our trains and flights on schedule. I did, however, get planter facetious from all the nonstop walking but it was a small price to pay. It truly was the trip of a lifetime and one I'm glad I did while I still could enjoy it.


I have created videos of our travels and saved them to my YouTube channel (Europe Trip playlist) if you want to see the images.




Recent Posts

See All

Heaven

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page