top of page

No More Hormones For You!



I met with my oncologist today and in 2 weeks I will either be going on a hormone blocker or an experimental drug that does the same thing to prevent a reoccurrence of cancer without nuking all my hormones.


If I use the drugs, chances for reoccurrence are 12%, if I don't it goes up to 25%.


Possible side effect of hormone blockers:

  • Hot flashes

  • Fatigue

  • Digestive problems (nausea/vomiting)

  • Hair thinning (already gone)

  • Headaches

  • Memory problems

  • Mood swings and depression

  • Blood clots

  • Weight gain (I'm fat enough already!!)

  • Joint pain (bad enough to make grown women cry)

The experimental drug does not have all these horrific side effects, so I signed up for that because the doctor said her patients were all doing really well on it but it's a 50/50 random chance if I am selected to go on it.


Oh! The joys of dealing with cancer.

55 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Heaven

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page