top of page

Radiation Starts Tomorrow


Beginning tomorrow I will be undergoing 6.5 weeks (5 days a week) of radiation to kill those pesky little cancer cells. In preparation, I have started drinking 64 oz of water a day.


Some of the side effects of radiation can include:

  • Fatigue (I could use some extra sleep)

  • Hair loss (already lost all of mine)

  • Skin changes (burning, blistering) - this is what I'm most worried about

  • Swelling (edema)

  • Tenderness

  • Esophageal issues

I have already purchased Clinique After Sun with Aloe Vera and Aloe Vera gel as a precaution and should also be provided with other creams that will keep my skin from hurting.


I've had heat and allergic rashes in the past and they are no picnic.


You don't feel anything from the actual procedure, but the after effects can be bad. My friend who was diagnosed the same week as me and started radiation a couple of weeks ago experienced nausea so I have some Matzo Ball soup on hand for that.


I'm hoping and praying I won't find it necessary to kvetch about it!


38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Heaven

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page