top of page

Rare, Medium Rare, Medium, Well Done or Charred?

Well, I wanted "rare" since that would denote that I would spend less time "cooking", but I actually am feeling well done while looking "rare". Does that make any sense?

I completed my third week of radiation last Friday and so far, so good. My skin is beginning to change a little but so far, no bad burn, blisters or horrific itching. I attribute this so far, mild reaction, to all your prayers for me!


A good friend of mine who got diagnosed with the exact same thing and underwent the exact same treatment (except for half the amount of radiation as I will get) got a horrific burn/itching a week following her last treatment (which is where I am at right now with another 3 weeks to go).


The radiologist told me yesterday that my skin looked fabulous so that is very heartening. I am applying Calendula cream twice a day, chugging 64oz of water a day, Aquifor cream at night, pure Aloe Vera gel and on the advice of my sister-in-law, taking Benadryl at night since the burns/itching are an allergic reaction to the radiation.


Waiting in the wings are an Oatmeal soak for use in the bathtub and Rejuvaskin lotion which is specifically for the treatment of radiation burns. If it doesn't get any worse than what I have now I will consider myself supernaturally blessed.


Thank you all again for your prayers and concern. I have made new friends in the breast cancer realm and a lot of their stories of their struggles and aftermath are heart-wrenching.


As my most recent friend, Rachel, told me today, "God has got me, no matter what." She is no longer able to work and may have to undergo more treatments and medical ordeals, but her faith remains strong.


No matter how much I may suffer or go through, God is with me and I will always trust in Him and love Him.


Therefore, since we have so great a cloud of witnesses surrounding us, let us also lay aside every encumbrance and the sin which so easily entangles us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, fixing our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of faith, who for the joy set before Him endured the cross, despising the shame, and has sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.

Hebrews 12:1-2.

28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Heaven

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page