top of page

The Deepest Desire of Every Heart


I think it would be fair to say that each and every one of us all share one, deep ultimate desire...and that is to be known intimately and loved unconditionally for ourselves just as we are. Not for how we look. Not for how famous we are, wealthy, or accomplished or talented. But loved deeply, madly and unconditionally for ourselves...warts and all.


I struggled with feeling accepted all my life. For the longest time I hated myself. Hated the way I looked. Hated my personality...all the while wishing to feel "accepted" but always feeling like I was on the outside looking in. My biggest fear was once anyone actually ever really got to know me that they would end up hating me.


I have grown out of a lot of these fears in the ensuing years but the feeling of being on the outside has never quite gone away.


This world has gotten so harsh and uncaring. My fellow pink sisters on the breast cancer support groups daily bemoan the lack of love and support from husbands, lovers and family members as they go through the horrors of their cancer journeys. Many of them have had their boyfriends and husbands leave them at the height of their need because they can't handle all the stuff that comes with being around a cancer patient.


Cancer and the subsequent treatments are not kind. My pink sisters are physically and permanently maimed. They lose all their body hair and pack on weight in most cases. Their appearance changes so much that they no longer recognize themselves and hate what they see in the mirror. Who is going to love me when I look like this? This does not even take into account the drugs that remove all sexual desire and produce debilitating side effects. Who would want me like this?


I have been blessed and fortunate enough to be married to a man who has loved me despite being bald and fat; and having multiple serious medical problems for most of my life. He has given me just a glimpse of the kind of love that God has in store for me. Many other women have not been so blessed.


My answer to these questions is that there is one being in the universe who know us intimately and loves us unconditionally and takes us just as we are. He longs to have an intimate relationship with us more than we with Him. He holds out his arms daily, saying "Come unto me, all you who are heavy laden, and I will give you rest."


The coming of Jesus to this earth to redeem us is a true love story. If we truly understood it, I believe most of all would yearn to experience it. It is the greatest love story, and it is available to ALL OF US regardless of how we have lived, what we have done or how we have believed. It is this love story that I have done my best to describe in my book, The Victor. It is not just "a" love story or a good read. It is so much more. The love story of Joshua and Llyonesse can be YOUR love story come true.


You may have a good life here on earth, but it will eventually come to an end. The love Jesus offers to each and every one of us transcends space and time. It is eternal. It is unfathomable. It is unconditional. It is YOURS for the receiving.


Come, just as you are. You will in no wise be cast aside.


Just as I am, without one plea, But that Thy blood was shed for me, And that Thou bid'st me come to Thee, O Lamb of God, I come! I come!

Just as I am, and waiting not To rid my soul of one dark blot; To Thee whose blood can cleanse each spot, O Lamb of God, I come, I come!

Just as I am, though tossed about With many a conflict, many a doubt; Fightings within, and fears without, O Lamb of God, I come, I come!

Just as I am, poor, wretched, blind; Sight, riches, healing of the mind; Yes, all I need, in Thee to find, O Lamb of God, I come, I come!

Just as I am, Thou wilt receive, Wilt welcome, pardon, cleanse, relieve; Because Thy promise I believe, O Lamb of God, I come, I come!

Just as I am, Thy love unknown Has broken every barrier down; Now, to be Thine, yea, Thine alone, O Lamb of God, I come, I come!


Delight yourself in the Lord and He will give you the desires of your heart - Psalm 37:4

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Heaven

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page