top of page

To Sleep, perchance to Dream...



I have forgotten what it's like to have a full night's sleep. It must be my age. A lot of my friends in my age group seem to be suffering the same misery of lying awake most nights, unable to turn off their brains and to fall and/or stay asleep. Listening with unbridled jealousy as our husbands snore the night away in blissful unconsciousness.


I have been taking Melatonin, Restless Legs pills, Unisom, warm milk, and Advil with no success. Then yesterday I used CALM gummies. I started falling asleep quickly...and then my dog Wolfie commenced to have a nonstop sneezing attack.


We closed the window. Sneezing stopped but then he was fussing all night and licking body parts so not much sleep again. Every other night I feel like I'm ready to jump out of my skin (perhaps a dress rehearsal for the rapture)? For those of you unfamiliar with that term see below:


I Thessalonians 4:13-18:

But we do not want you to be uninformed, brethren, about those who are asleep, so that you will not grieve as do the rest who have no hope. For if we believe that Jesus died and rose again, even so God will bring with Him those who have fallen asleep in Jesus. For this we say to you by the word of the Lord, that we who are alive and remain until the coming of the Lord, will not precede those who have fallen asleep. For the Lord Himself will descend from heaven with a shout, with the voice of the archangel and with the trumpet of God, and the dead in Christ will rise first. Then we who are alive and remain will be caught up (caught up in Greek is Harpazo, when translated into Latin it becomes: Rapturos) together with them in the clouds to meet the Lord in the air, and so we shall always be with the Lord. Therefore comfort one another with these words.


This is one of the wildest statements in the entire New Testament but not without precedent. Enoch was "caught up" and so was Elijah. So, if you wake up one day and find out that millions of people have instantly gone missing, now you know the reason why. It won't be a massive alien abduction but what the Bible describes above. This event could happen at any moment, and based upon everything that's happening in the world, I believe I will be alive when it happens (unless I die prematurely).


Now I need to go find myself a sledgehammer...

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Heaven

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page