top of page

Twas the Night Before Surgery



Twas the night before surgery,

when all through the house

Not a person was sleeping, especially the spouse;


The suitcase with sparse clothing had been packed with care,

to make sure that I would not go bare;


We both lay all snug and warm in our bed,

While visions of doctors danced in our heads;


Marlayne in her beanie and Michael as well

tried valiantly to sleep but to no avail.


Because come the morning when we spring from our bed

we'll face the coming ordeal with no small sense of dread.


Away from home we'll drive the next morn

to the local hospital to be prepped and wait forlorn


My wonderful husband, always faithful and true, will be praying his heart out to hear the good news.


So with the prayers and good wishes of all I know echoing in my head,

I'll entrust my soul to the God I know will raise me from the dead


My faithful Jesus, in whose arms I have longed to be,

can be trusted to safely deliver me.


So with these words, no matter what may be...

I hope you too will trust My Jesus for your eternity...Marlayne



63 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Heaven

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page